Clarified the AsyncDataChangeEvent message - stated you must not block the thread. 06/8906/1
authorDevin Avery <devin.avery@brocade.com>
Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:05:43 +0000 (14:05 -0400)
committerDevin Avery <devin.avery@brocade.com>
Thu, 10 Jul 2014 18:07:22 +0000 (14:07 -0400)
Change-Id: I311b7c37f5848beb351d59fc830798d10302a3bb
Signed-off-by: Devin Avery <devin.avery@brocade.com>
opendaylight/md-sal/sal-common-api/src/main/java/org/opendaylight/controller/md/sal/common/api/data/AsyncDataChangeListener.java

index dca5200..0bdaf7b 100644 (file)
@@ -41,9 +41,12 @@ public interface AsyncDataChangeListener<P extends Path<P>, D> extends EventList
      * This initial event will contain all preexisting data as created.
      *
      * <p>
-     * <b>Note</b> that this method may be invoked from a shared thread pool, so
-     * implementations SHOULD NOT perform CPU-intensive operations and they
-     * definitely MUST NOT invoke any potentially blocking operations.
+     * <b>Note</b>: This method may be invoked from a shared thread pool.
+     * <li>Implementations <b>SHOULD NOT</b> perform CPU-intensive operations on the calling thread.
+     * <li>Implementations <b>MUST NOT block the calling thread</b> - to do so could lead to deadlock
+     * scenarios.
+     *
+     *<br>
      *
      * @param change
      *            Data Change Event being delivered.

©2013 OpenDaylight, A Linux Foundation Collaborative Project. All Rights Reserved.
OpenDaylight is a registered trademark of The OpenDaylight Project, Inc.
Linux Foundation and OpenDaylight are registered trademarks of the Linux Foundation.
Linux is a registered trademark of Linus Torvalds.